The Legislative Department is mailnly concerned with drafting of all principal legislation for the Central Government viz, Bills to be inrtroduced in Parliament, Ordinances to be promulgated by the President, measures to be enacted as President`s Acts for States under the President`s rule and Regulations to be made by the President for Union territories.It is also concerned with election Laws namely the Represemntation of the People Act 1950 and the Representation of the People Act 1951. In addition it is also entrusted with task of dealing with certain matters relating to List III of the Seventh Schedule to the Constituion like personal law,contracts evidence etc. The responsibility of maintaining upto date the statutes enacted by Parliament is also with this Department.



1.Administration I Section

  1. All Establishment matters in respect of staff and officers of the Legislative Department and Official Languages Wing.
  2. Establishment matter in respect of Group ‘A’ Officers in the Election Commission.
  3. Establishment matters in respect of officers and members of the staff of the Election Departments of the Administration of Union Territories.

2.Administration II Section

  1. All establishment matters of Group ‘D’ staff
  2. CGHS and Medical Attendance Rules
  3. Reimbursement of medical expenses.
  4. Allotment of office and residential accommodation.
  5. Security arrangements and identity cards.

3.Budget & Accounts and Integrated Finance Section

  1. Budget Estimates, Revised Estimates and Final Estimates of expenditures
  2. Demands for Grant, Annual Reports
  3. Co-ordination in respect of Appropriation Accounts for grants
  4. Statutory audit and Internal audit and inspection of accounts.
  5. Scrutiny all proposals for Creation of new posts and continuance of existing posts.
  6. Delegation of powers

4.Cash Section

Payment of salary and Grant of advance, etc.


5.Correction Section

  1. Uptodate Codes and Supplements containing Acts, Ordinances and Regulations of all the  States and Union Territories.

  1. Marking and scrutiny of all the Gazette rules, orders and notifications.


6.GSRO Section

Compilation of General Statutory Rules and Orders made under Acts in the India Code


7.Legislative I Section

  1. Examination of Legislative proposals for drafting –  Bill, Ordinances, etc.
  1. Examination of proposals for legislation with regard to the requirement of recommendations of the President under articles 110, 117(1), 117(3), etc.
  1. Constitution Amendment Bill


8.Leg. II & Parliament Section


  1. Elections to Parliament – General Elections, Bye Elections, Lok Sabha/ Rajya Sabha, Presidential / Vice – Presidential Elections.
  1. Election Law and Rules
  1. Private Member’s Bills
  1. Examination of references from President Sectt. relating to disqualification of MPs and MLAs and putting up draft orders for consideration of the President.


9.Legislative III Section


  1. Matters relating to entries 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 and 28 in the concurrent list of the Seventh Schedule to the Constitution of India including personal laws.
  1. Office of Profit


10.Printing Section

Editing of manuscripts of Central Bills  

11.Publication Section

Publications – revised edition to India Code; Constitution of India, Manual of Election Law, etc.