In exercise of the powers conferred by section 252 of the Income Tax Act, 1961 the Central Government has constituted the Income Tax Appellate Tribunal (ITAT) to hear appeals against the orders passed by various authorities stated in section 253 of the Act. The Income Tax Appellate Tribunal (ITAT) was established on 25th January, 1941, in pursuance of a similar provision contained in the Indian Income-tax Act, 1922. The ITAT comprises of 63 Benches (each Bench consisting of one Judicial Member and one Accountant Member), i.e. 126 Members. These 126 Members include 1 President, 1 Sr. Vice-President, 9 Vice-Presidents. The Benches of the ITAT are spread over 27 cities throughout the country. The service conditions of the Members of the Income Tax Appellate Tribunal is administered by the Income-tax Appellate Tribunal Member (Recruitment and Conditions of Service) Rules, 1963. The website of the ITAT is